Posted by: Honduras Mission Team | June 16, 2017

Day 6 -Thursday

Don’t be afraid to step out of your comfort zone…it just might change your life.

 
O my Jesus, you have said: “Truly I say to you, ask and you will receive, seek and you will find, knock and it will be opened to you.”

IMG_20170612_091307.jpg
More than 2 years ago, I stepped out of my comfort zone to attend Christ Renews His Parish.  Our Lord and Savior reeled me in so I would get reacquainted with Him. Thanks to the Holy Spirit, my life began to be transformed in so many ways. During that weekend retreat, it became apparent to me that my heart needed to be softened. I didn’t know how that would happen.  Nor did I know when it would happen.  Nonetheless, I began praying every day for the Holy Spirit to give me the counsel and understanding to make it happen.

Sometimes we pick up on things quickly, sometimes we need patience for God to reveal His work.  This week, the Holy Spirit has revealed it to me.  I have come to recognize this week that He actually began the process immediately, without recognizing it, when I started praying 2 years ago.  The answer to softening my heart was quite simple:

The gift of serving others.

Prior to 2 years ago, I had never participated on a mission trip. It never crossed my mind or it wasn’t “my thing”.  Since then, I have now particpated on 3 mission/service trips:

1. Guatemala (a building “brick stoves and pig pens” mission trip.
2. Coata Rica (an Unbound Awareness trip that builds “the kingdom of God” as Unbound calls it).
3. Honduras (a building “relationships” trip).

So, why after all these years have I completed three in less than two years?  Because I asked God for a compassionate heart and He gave me the opportunity to find it.  And because I was willing to step out of my comfort zone and trust in the Holy Spirit to do it. In fact, that was the only way for me to get it.

As we rapidly come to the end of our week (this is my 2nd to last blog), we had another moving day. Surprise, surprise. 😊

The Fab Five helped generous, charitable locals serve breakfast at a shelter early this morning. This shelter serves those that are either waiting for care at the local hospital or are visiting family at the hospital. From there, we went across the street to serve 26 pregnant women, ranging from age 20 to 45.  It was such a blessing to see these 26 women, full of struggles, choosing the gift of life and to bring their new baby into their world with hope for a better future.

Honduras Day 6.png
Later in the morning we drove into the mountains to visit a coffee farm/processing plant. For all of us coffee lovers, this was a treat. The view from the mountains didn’t hurt.

To close out our day, we returned to the home to serve pizza to the girls.  We never tire from seeing the girls and its beginning to hit Joe and me that tomorrow is going to be a very emotional day.  In reality, I didn’t need to wait til tomorrow. It hit me tonight. I/Joe feel somewhat like a father to these girls, in fact, many call me/Joe papa.

Please continue to pray for our team!

Todd Tito Koca and the Fab Five
Leave a Reply

Categories

